Which of the following African countries is landlocked?  

Considering Nigeria, Ethiopia, Somalia and Morocco, the answer is: Ethiopia.

Photo credit: Wenjvn

There are 16 landlocked countries on the African continent, with no access to the ocean or sea. Ethiopia is one of those countries, becoming landlocked in the 1993 secession of Eritrea, its former province along the Red Sea.

Ethiopia comprises region with ancient history, unique cultural heritage and remarkable biodiversity despite its landlocked status. Known as the "Land of Origins," Ethiopia is the second-most populated nation in Africa. It's capital, Addis Ababa, is a significant hub of trade and political affairs, as many African organizations are based in the city.

Ethiopia faced major pressure from European powers during the Scramble for Africa in the 19th century. Alongside Liberia, Ethiopia remained one of two countries to successfully resist colonization, a feat whose effects have helped create the infrastructure necessary for economic and political success. Ethiopia joined the League of Nations in 1923, making it the first African nation to do so, while continuing to prioritize the over 80 ethnic groups which populate the region.

Not only known for its remarkable history, Ethiopia is also one of the world's top producers of coffee. It is the 5th largest producer of coffee in the world, and Africa's top producer. Ethiopians have even developed several ceremonial practices for the creation and consumption of coffee.

Learn more about Ethiopia's history and culture below.

Question of the Day Mobile App


Learn something new everyday. Get the Question of the Day delivered to your inbox each day!

You've successfully subscribed to Question of the Day
Great! Next, complete checkout for full access to Question of the Day
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.